Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join WSPA
Community Search
Psychologists Awards
Share |

Washington State Psychologist Awards

Each year the Washington State Psychological Association recognizes individuals and organizations who have contributed meaningfully to the purpose of WSPA, which is to support, promote and advance the science, education and practice of psychology in the public interest. 

The WSPA Board of Trustees solicits nominations from its members for the awards, evaluates and votes on these nominations, and then presents the awards to the winners at a ceremony during the annual WSPA Fall convention.

Distinguished Psychologist Award:  Given in recognition of significant contributions to the field of psychology.  This award recognizes outstanding professional contributions to knowledge, to applied psychology in professional practice, or in the public interest, while a resident of Washington State.

Distinguished Service Award:  Given in recognition of outstanding work in support of WSPA’s mission through some outstanding contribution.

G. Andrew H. Benjamin Award:  Given in recognition of an individual member’s outstanding and tireless contributions to the Washington State Psychological Association.

Sustained Service Award:  Given in recognition of life-long service to WSPA and the field of psychology.  This award recognizes a psychologist who has given sustained service to the association in a manner that has significantly benefited the organization and or facilitated its development.

Social Issues Award:  Given in recognition of outstanding work to advance the mental health of the community and to apply psychology in the public interest.

Public Citizen Award:  Honors a public citizen or an organization that has contributed to the psychological health of their community.

Legislative Service Award:  Honors a Washington State elected official who has contributed to the psychological health of their community.

Presidential Service Award: Given to the out-going President of the Board, in recognition of the service rendered.

2017 Awardees:

Distinguished Psychologist Award
Kate Comtois, Ph.D., MPH

Distinguished Service Award
Russell Hanford, Ph.D.

G. Andrew H. Benjamin Award
Stephen Feldman J.D., Ph.D.

Sustained Service Award
Samantha Slaughter, Psy.D.

Social Issues Award
Molly Carney, Ph.D.

Public Citizen Award
Teri Koski, President of NAMI Spokane

Legislative Service Award
State Representative Eileen Cody, (D) 34th L.D.

Presidential Service Award
Sonia Venkatraman, Ph.D.

2016 Awardee:

Presidential Service Award
Bill Thorbecke, Ph.D.

2015 Awardees:

Distinguished Psychologist Award
Anne Ganley, Ph.D.

Distinguished Service Award
Marcia Wesley, Psy.D.
Mary Lynne Courtney, Ph.D.

Social Issues Award
Claudette "Claudia" Antuna, Psy.D., MHSA, LICSW

Public Citizen Award
Mental Health Access Program - The Olympia Free Clinic

Sustained Service Award
Robert D. Grubbs, Ph.D.

Presidential Service Award
Chris McCurry, Ph.D.

G. Andrew H. Benjamin Award
Samantha Slaughter, Psy.D.

Pictures of the awards ceremony are on the WSPA Facebook page.

About The Awards and Past Recipient List

more Latest News
more Calendar

The upcoming calendar is currently empty.

Click here to view past events and photos »

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal